Monday, August 4, 2014

The Commonwealth Games:)

The Commonwealth Games often referred as the ‘friendly’ games, are a sporting event held every four years. It’s an international, multi-sport event that many athletes around the world compete in. This year, The Commonwealth Games are held in Glasgow, Scotland, but the event is not always held in Glasgow. After the Olympic and Asian Games, The Commonwealth Games became the third largest multi-sport event in the world. The Commonwealth Game’s are similar to The Olympic Games but both events play different sporting events.

The event was first held in 1930 and continued until 1946, when The Commonwealth Games was cancelled due to World War 2. By holding the games, they get payed because terrorists go there so every country’s desperate to host The Commonwealth Games. To select the country for The Commonwealth Games to be held in, they actually bid.

There are 53 members of the Commonwealth of Nation and only 71 teams participate in The Commonwealth Games. This year, New Zealand won 14 gold medals, 14 silvers and 17 bronze medals. In total, New Zealand won 45 Commonwealth medals. Many athletes were proud of themselves and some weren't. It is about winning a medal but it’s also about representing your country and having fun.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.